Professional Recognition Awards

These are enhancements to your résumé or curriculum vita.

AARP Purpose Prize

Every year the AARP Purpose Prize honors 5 exceptional individuals who have tapped their wealth of experience to foster enduring and innovative positive social impacts. After a rigorous review process, recipients of this prestigious award each receive $50,000 to celebrate their achievements and to hopefully help broaden the scope of their work. Included within the AARP Purpose Prize is the Andrus Prize for Intergenerational Excellence. This award celebrates the legacy of AARP’s founder, Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus. Dr. Andrus was an innovative educator and social change agent. The Andrus Prize for Intergenerational Excellence recognizes work that brings multiple generations together for a better community.

Food Sovereignty Prize

The Food Sovereignty Prize spotlights grassroots activists working for a more democratic food system. The honorees are being recognized for promoting food sovereignty by: raising public awareness, organizing on-the-ground action, and/or developing and implementing programs and policies, recognizing the importance of collective action in bringing about social change, building global linkages into their work, and prioritizing the leadership of women, indigenous peoples, people of color, migrant workers and other food providers marginalized by the global food system.


National Association of County Agriculture Agents Awards

NACAA is geared toward Extension educators and other professionals who work in agriculture, horticulture, forestry and natural resources, 4-H youth development, community development, administration, aquaculture and Sea Grant, and related disciplines.

The Patrick Madden Award for Sustainable Agriculture (SARE)

[currently not being offered]

Biennially, SARE recognizes farmers and ranchers who raise food or fiber in ways that are profitable, good for families and communities, and beneficial to the environment. The award is named for SARE's first director, Patrick Madden, who was a pioneer in the movement toward a strong, independent agriculture.

The Madden award recognizes producers who:

  1. have conducted innovative research that explores ways to make farming more profitable, environmentally sound and good for communities and/or
  2. have served as effective educators about sustainable agriculture practices and systems with their peers or others in the community.

Sponsored by SARE, the award features a $1,000 honorarium and travel scholarships to a SARE regional/national conference.

World Food Prize

The $250,000 annual award recognizes contributions in any field involved in the world food supply including, but not limited to: plant, animal and soil science; food science and technology; nutrition; rural development; marketing; food processing and packaging; water and the environment; natural resource conservation; physical infrastructure; transportation, storage and distribution; special or extraordinary feeding programs; social organization and poverty elimination; economics and finance; policy analysis; and public advocacy.